QCB News

Ratvasky Publication

September 9, 2019

Stephen Ratvasky (Zaleski lab) was second author on Anion Control of Lanthanoenediyne Cyclization, a paper published in Inorganic Chemistry.

IU Career Development Symposium August 5-6th

July 12, 2019

Please join us for the 5th Annual Career Development Symposium.

The IU CDS aims to provide our chemistry graduate students and post-docs with insights into available career paths as well as opportunities to establish contacts with potential employers. This graduate student led event will facilitate dialogue between successful professional, potential employers, and students to generate excitement and alleviate confusion in the search for a path after graduate school.

Register Here!

NIGMS Support and Fellowship Competition Announcements

June 25, 2019

Our training program has been awarded new financial support by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) for five years, July 1, 2019- June 30, 2024. Generous matching support by the College of Arts and Sciences and the University Graduate School at Indiana University has been provided as well.

Also, the QCB TP Steering Committee is pleased to announce five (5) new fellowship appointments and four (4) reappointments for the upcoming 2019-2020 academic year.

Four two-year NRSA fellowships were awarded to upcoming second year students, Kristen Alanis (Baker group), Kelly Hartsough (Walczak group), Liam Scott (Dragnea group), and Yasmine Zubi (Lewis group).  One one-year fellowship awards were made to rising third-year student Abigail Garrett (Winkler group). Their photos and biographical information are forthcoming!  Check back to our Current Trainees page!

Four additional trainees were re-appointed to their second year of support: Brooke Brown (Clemmer group), Rachel Fadler (Flood group), Lily Klapper (VanNieuwenhze group), and Matthew Jordan (Giedroc group).

Congratulations to all!

Jordan Publication

June 17, 2019

Matthew Jordan (Giedroc lab) was first author on Mechanistic Insights into the Metal-Dependent Activation of ZnII-Dependent Metallochaperones, a paper published in Inorganic Chemistry.

Marcyk Publication

May 24, 2019

Paul Marcyk (Cook lab) was first author on Iron-Catalyzed Hydroamination and Hydroetherification of Unactivated Alkenes, a paper published in Organic Letters.

Ramos Publication

May 7, 2019

Sashary Ramos (Thielges Lab)was first author on Site-Specific 1D and 2D IR Spectroscopy to Characterize the Conformations and Dynamics of Protein Molecular Recognition, a paper published in The Journal of Physical Chemistry B.

Perez Publication

April 25, 2019

Amilcar Perez (Winkler Lab) was first author on Movement dynamics of divisome proteins and PBP2x:FtsW in cells of Streptococcus pneumoniae, a paper published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America.

Selivanovitch Publication

April 5, 2019

Kate Selivanovitch (Douglas Lab) was first author on Chemically Induced Morphogenesis of P22 Virus-like Particles by the Surfactant Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate, a paper published in Biomacromolecules.

Spring QCB Evening, Monday April 1st

March 21, 2019

Join us for the Spring QCB Evening on Monday, April 1st from 5:30-7:00pm in Chemistry C033. The QCB Ambassadors will host a panel covering the ins and outs of the QCB Fellowship program, career timeline planning, grant writing, networking, and other campus resources to help STEM graduate students begin building their careers.

Rued Publication

March 12, 2019

Britta Rued (QCB alumna) was first author on Structure of the Large Extracellular Loop of FtsX and Its Interaction with the Essential Peptidoglycan Hydrolase PcsB in Streptococcus pneumoniae a paper published in mBio January 2019.